2023 banner year for Humane Society Legislative Fund’s municipal endorsements

2023 banner year for Humane Society Legislative Fund’s municipal endorsements

WASHINGTON (November 9, 2023)—Today, the Humane Society Legislative Fund highlighted a total 55 endorsements in 2023 for municipal candidates in Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New Hampshire, New York and Texas, as part of a heightened focus on municipal races.

“There are strong candidates who care about animal protection at all levels of government,” said Brad Pyle, Political Director of Humane Society Legislative Fund. “That is why Humane Society Legislative Fund is proud to announce that this year, we endorsed 55 municipal candidates in races across the country. State and national policy is often the product of local victories, which together build the foundation for broad, sweeping change for animals.”

The following candidates were endorsed by the Humane Society Legislative Fund in 2023, and the winners are noted with an asterisk:


  • Office of the Mayor, Tampa: Jane Castor* (D)


  • Chicago City Council, Ward 1: Daniel La Spata* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 2: Brian Hopkins* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 25: Byron Sigcho-Lopez* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 32: Scott Waguespack* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 35: Carlos Ramirez-Rosa* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 36: Gilbert Villegas* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 40: Andre Vasquez, Jr.* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 42: Brendan Reilly* (D)
  • Chicago City Council, Ward 50: Debra Silverstein* (D)
  • Naperville City Council: Meghna Bansal (NP)
  • Naperville City Council: Patrick Kelly* (NP)
  • Naperville City Council: Allison Longenbaugh* (NP)
  • Naperville City Council: Josh McBroom* (NP)


  • Office of the Mayor, Hobart: Josh Huddlestun* (D)
  • Office of the Mayor, Terre Haute: Brandon Sakbun* (D)
  • Terre Haute City Council, At-large: Curtis DeBaun IV* (D)
  • Carmel City Council, Southeast District: Adam Aasen* (R)
  • Carmel City Council, South Central District: Jessica Irvine (D)
  • Crown Point City Council, 2nd District: Dawn Stokes (D)
  • Fort Wayne City Council, 2nd District: Melissa Rinehart (D)
  • Hobart City Council, 2nd District: Tom Lounges (I)
  • Hobart City Council, At-large District: Joseph Conn (G)


  • East Lansing City Council, At-large: Erik Altmann* (NP)
  • East Lansing City Council, At-large: Mark S. Meadows* (NP)
  • Ferndale City Council, At-large: Donnie Johnson* (NP)
  • Lansing City Council, Ward 1: Ryan Kost* (NP)
  • Madison Heights City Council, At-large: Quinn Wright* (NP)
  • Southfield City Council, At-large: Charles Hicks* (NP)

New Hampshire

  • Ward 7, Manchester City Council: Patrick Long

New York

  • City Auditor, Syracuse: Alexander Marion* (D)
  • New York City Council, 1st District: Chris Marte* (D)
  • New York City Council, 2nd District: Carlina Rivera* (D)
  • New York City Council, 3rd District: Erik Bottcher* (D)
  • New York City Council, 4th District: Keith Powers* (D)
  • New York City Council, 7th District: Shaun Abreu* (D)
  • New York City Council, 8th District: Diana Ayala* (D)
  • New York City Council, 14th District: Pierina Ana Sanchez* (D)
  • New York City Council, 19th District: Tony Avella (D)
  • New York City Council, 22nd District: Tiffany Cabán* (D)
  • New York City Council, 25th District: Shekar Krishnan* (D)
  • New York City Council, 29th District: Lynn Schulman* (D)
  • New York City Council, 30th District: Robert Holden* (D)
  • New York City Council, 33rd District: Lincoln Restler* (D)
  • New York City Council, 34th District: Jennifer Gutiérrez* (D)
  • New York City Council, 35th District: Crystal Hudson* (D)
  • New York City Council, 36th District: Chi Ossé* (D)
  • New York City Council, 37th District: Sandy Nurse* (D)
  • New York City Council, 39th District: Shahana Hanif* (D)
  • New York City Council, 40th District: Rita Joseph* (D)
  • New York City Council, 47th District: Justin Brannan* (D)
  • New York City Council, 48th District: Amber Adler (D)


  • Houston City Council, District G: Mary Nan Huffman* (NP)
  • Houston City Council, At-large Position 4: Letitia Plummer* (NP)
  • Houston City Council, At-large Position 5: Sallie Alcorn* (NP)

HSLF, the nation’s leading political advocacy organization for animal protection, considers endorsement by examining candidates’ campaign commitments and incumbents’ legislative record. As a non-partisan organization, HSLF considers a candidate’s stance on animal protection and their electability when evaluating them for endorsement.

Media Contact: Kate Sarna, 202-836-1265, ksarna@hslf.org


HSLF is a nonpartisan organization that evaluates candidates based only on a single criterion: where they stand on animal welfare. HSLF does not judge candidates based on party affiliation or any other issue.

The Humane Society Legislative Fund is a social welfare organization incorporated under section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code and formed in 2004 as a separate lobbying affiliate of The Humane Society of the United States. The HSLF works to pass animal protection laws at the state and federal level, to educate the public about animal protection issues, and to support humane candidates for office. Visit us on all our channels: on the web at hslf.org, on our blog at hslf.org/blog, on Facebook at facebook.com/humanelegislation and on X, formerly known as Twitter, at @HSLegFund.

Paid for by Humane Society Legislative Fund and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee. HSLF, 1255 23rd Street, NW, Suite 455, Washington, DC 20037.