Mon, 06/29/2020 - 16:32

By Sara Amundson and Kitty Block

The killing of Cecil the lion five years ago this week by an American trophy hunter in Zimbabwe triggered worldwide outrage. Father of a pride, lured with an elephant carcass, wounded by an arrow, he suffered for hours before being killed by gunshot. As it turned out, this was a shot heard around the world, giving momentum to global demand for an end to trophy killing of animals.

Tue, 06/16/2020 - 20:02

Wed, 06/10/2020 - 19:09

Mon, 06/08/2020 - 20:24

Wed, 06/03/2020 - 17:38

Fri, 05/15/2020 - 17:06

By Sara Amundson and Kitty Block

Imagine our world and its wildlife without the protections of the Endangered Species Act. Had it not been for this bedrock federal law, the beloved American bald eagle would most likely have gone the way of the dodo or the passenger pigeon. Gray wolves and grizzly bears would be no more than relics hanging on the walls of trophy hunters. And the humpback whale would only be found in history books.

Fri, 04/24/2020 - 21:37

Tue, 04/14/2020 - 18:28

Wed, 04/08/2020 - 18:58

Fri, 03/27/2020 - 20:58

By Sara Amundson and Kitty Block

A decade ago, a Humane Society of the United States's undercover investigation delved into the bizarre world of Joseph Maldonado-Passage (aka Joe Exotic) and his roadside zoo, GW Exotics. For years, Joe and his band of untrained workers kept hundreds of big cats and other wild animals in captivity in barren conditions, bred them to provide infant animals for public photo shoots and “play time” sessions, and even shot animals dead when they were of no use to him anymore.